Tragic Magic In Handy Backup Supply Shocker (Part 2)

Last month I was lamenting the fact that I’d purchased an external hard disk drive to backup my growing music supply, and that the appropriate part of the power supply for this hard disk drive appeared to be missing upon opening the box.

Of course, it would have been helpful if I’d opened the box on the day I purchased it, as I would probably have been able to save myself an awful lot of trouble, frustration and, ultimately, embarrassment.   (If you missed the story, you can read it by clicking here.)

In short, however, what happened was that I purchased the Maxtor Personal Storage 3200 in November and then didn’t bother opening the box until last month, when it looked like the computer powering music to the pub might be about to die a rather horrible and very final death.  (It didn’t and, in fact, seems to have made a rather more than miraculous recovery from whatever was ailing it on the morning of February 8th.)  Upon opening the box I discovered a kettle-style lead that didn’t appear to fit the actual disk drive itself.

PC World were unwilling to help because, as far as they were concerned, enough time had passed since the purchase of the item that I could well have actually lost the component that should have been in the box and they didn’t appear to believe me when I said that I had only just opened the packaging, three months after making my emergency purchase.

Since then, of course, I’ve been desperately trying to find ways to make this external drive work so that I could backup my music supply.  Slaveboy Adam tried various other power supplies for me, all to no avail, and I scoured the Internet looking for reasonably cheap alternative power supplies, all which came back rather expensive.  So I didn’t bother buying them.

On Monday, however, Big “999” Shaun came to my rescue with a multi-purpose power supply procured from Argos.  The idea is simple: choose the power connector that fits your device, connect it to the multi-purpose power supply, select the voltage you want from a range between 3 and 12 and plug in to the mains.  (Make sure you get the polarity correct, mind you, or it could all go up in a mini mushroom cloud.)

Following this relatively simple lesson in electronics, I plugged the device in and hey presto!  The power light lit up.  The hard drive clicked and whirred.  Something buzzed.  And then the computer reported that it didn’t recognise the hard drive device when I plugged it in.

In temper, and because I couldn’t think of anything else rational to do at the time, I picked up the original Maxtor packaging and threw it at the wall.

And that was when the other, missing half of the original power supply fell out of the box.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

