Google will stalk my Charity Ride

I’ve reached that stage in my life.  I can’t afford a Ferrari, and an affair would probably would get me in to a spot of hot bother, so I’ve got to do something physically challenging instead.

“Dad, why on Earth would you want to ride your bike sixty miles when you can just get in your car and drive it?”

Such is the wisdom of a ten year old used to simply being chucked in the back of the car with his Nintendo and told to be quiet, even if it’s just for a quick trip to the shops for milk.

The answer, however, is simple: I’ve reached that stage in my life.  I can’t afford a Ferrari, and an affair would probably would get me in to a spot of hot bother, so I’ve got to do something physically challenging instead.

Hence, this Sunday, I’ll be taking part in the London to Cambridge charity cycle ride.  For the past few months my cycling buddy and I have been trudging around the roads of East Anglia in an effort to get fit but, while I’m now used to sitting in the saddle for hours on end, the one thing that this part of the country doesn’t offer me is a hill.

And, I’m told, the first obstacle we have to face when leaving Pickett’s Lock on Sunday morning is a hill.  The whole challenge could be over within minutes of it starting, but I’m hoping not.

Instead, I’m planning on doing the route within six hours.  But, to be fair, I just want to finish it under my own steam, so if it takes me until Wednesday I’ll be happy.  At least that way I won’t have to endure Legoland on Monday!

Thanks to the wonders of modern technology, not to mention Google’s stalking service otherwise known as Latitude, you can keep up with how we’re getting on by visiting the pub’s dedicated web page – click here for access.

And, if you’re feeling generous, why not pop along to my donations page too?  We’re really grateful for the donations received so far and we’ve exceeded our target of £1500, but every little helps!  Click here for the donations page.

Meanwhile, I’m off to the pharmacists to stock up on Sudacrem.  I suspect I might need buckets of it rubbed in to certain parts of my anatomy come Sunday night…

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

