AV will give you beer instead of coffee…

First Past The Post gives you coffee; Alternative Vote gives you beer!

When it comes to politics, I have to say I’m a bit blasé about the whole thing.  Usually, all politicians seem to do is say the same thing as their opponent, only with different words. (It’s usually the same standing listening to an argument in a pub.)

More often than not, their goal is the same, but they just want to try and achieve it differently so they can stand in the Houses of Parliament and thumb their nose at the chap opposite. Or jeer a lot. Or tell somebody to Calm Down, Dear…

But the whole “Alternative Vote” thing has got me in a bit of a muddle. Is it good? Is it bad? Should I vote yes or no next Thursday? Nobody really seems to understand the rules.

Jeremy Clarkson, writing last week in The Sun, had me leaning towards a ‘no’ vote after apparently using the AV rules to choose their family dinner from the choices available. They ended up with Bacon, Nuts and Potato, apparently…

But then a friend sent the below image to me via e-mail and it made me chuckle, so I thought I’d share.  After all, we wouldn’t want our pubs becoming coffee shops, would we…?

The Alternative Vote

Political note: I still haven’t made my mind up – I just thought this was funny…

PS: the image was sent to me via e-mail and therefore I don’t know who to credit it with.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

