More practice needed…

Work, wind and rain have all conspired to prevent me from playing with the quadcopter recently but this morning a glance out the window and some confidence inspiring ‘FLY!’ instructions from the iPad’s Hover app sent me off up the country path to where I thought I had some open space to explore the drone’s capabilities a little further.

For example, I didn’t know how high I could take it.

Or how far away from me it could fly in a straight line.

(Turns out, for a £40 toy from Amazon, both quite high, and quite far.)

Then I tried the eversion mode and, somehow, actually managed to get it to somersault.

So then, I got cocky, stopped concentrating, and flew backwards in to a tree, from which it hung limply until I managed to get it down with some persuasive throttle-on-throttle-off action until it loosened itself from the branch it was caught on.

What the video doesn’t show is that I then flew it straight up in to the air again, and straight in to another tree, which it couldn’t remove itself from. Luckily, I had a teenager with me, and he likes climbing trees.

So, more practice needed then…

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “More practice needed…

  1. […] while out playing in a nearby field with the children, I managed to make it flip by accident and then couldn’t work out what I’d done. But this morning, I had some practice, and […]

  2. […] YouTube videos have titles like ‘altitude test’ and then show impressive feats of flying, often followed by crashes, but none actually say how high the drone really went. I had a go myself last week, and flew in to a tree… […]

Leave a Reply

